Health-related Travel

Travel expenses incurred by the Veteran when travelling to receive health care services or benefits may be reimbursed by VAC. Health-related travel costs include items such as transportation, parking, meals, lodging, out of province travel and, when required, an escort, meaning someone to accompany you if you are travelling to receive treatment.

In some of these cases, there is a maximum which can be claimed.

For meals, the amount paid cannot exceed the meal allowances set out by the National Joint Council's Appendix C.

For travel in your own private vehicle, VAC can reimburse kilometers at a rate that is two (2) cents more than the kilometric rate set out in the National Joint Council's Appendix B.

For pre-approved overnight travel, standard commercial accommodations can be paid at a rate no higher than the maximum rate permitted for federal public servants as outlined in the current Hotel Directory for Government Employees or private accommodations can be paid at a the rate outlined in the National Joint Council's Appendix C.

Travel is defined as transportation, within Canada, by the most convenient and economical means appropriate to the condition of the Veteran between their residence and the appropriate treatment centre nearest to their residence.

Receipts - Veterans do not need to submit receipts with their travel claims unless VAC asks for them. Veterans must still obtain receipts and appointment verifications and retain these original receipts for one year following the claim submission in case they are requested for review.

For more information, please see the Health-related Travel information for Veterans, the Health-related Travel Information or the Health-related Travel Policy.

If you are registered for My VAC Account, you can access the guide and submit the forms online now. If you aren’t registered, why wait? Register today.

Did you find what you were looking for?

You can also do a search or contact us at 1-866-522-2122 (toll-free) Monday to Friday, 8:30 to 4:30, local time.

Living outside of Canada?

Monday to Friday, 8:30 to 4:30, EST

United States 1-888-996-2242 (toll-free)
United Kingdom, Germany, France, or Belgium 00-800-996-22421 (toll-free)
Any other country 1-613-996-2242 (collect)

Date modified:

Déplacements à des fins médicales

Anciens Combattants Canada peut rembourser les frais de déplacement engagés par l'ancien combattant pour recevoir des services ou des avantages médicaux. Les frais de déplacement à des fins médicales incluent notamment les frais de transport, de stationnement, de repas, d'hébergement, de déplacement à l'extérieur de la province et, au besoin, d'un accompagnateur, soit une personne qui vous accompagne si vous vous déplacez pour recevoir un traitement.

Dans certains de ces cas, il y a un maximum qui peut être réclamé.

Pour ce qui a trait aux frais de repas, le montant payé ne doit pas dépasser l'indemnité de repas indiquée à l'appendice C du Conseil national mixte.

Pour ce qui a trait au transport par véhicule particulier, ACC peut rembourser les frais de déplacement engagés à un taux qui est de deux (2) cents supérieur au taux par kilomètre énoncé dans l'appendice B du Conseil national mixte.

Pour ce qui a trait au voyage de plus de 24 heures préautorisé, un logement de nuit commercial standard peut être remboursé jusqu'à concurrence du tarif maximal autorisé pour les fonctionnaires fédéraux, tel qu'indiqué dans le Répertoire des hôtels pour les employés du gouvernement ou un logement privé peut être remboursé conformément au taux indiqué à l'appendice C du Conseil national mixte.

Déplacement désigne le transport, à l'intérieur du Canada, par le moyen le plus pratique et économique approprié à l'affection de l'ancien combattant entre son lieu de résidence et le centre de traitement approprié le plus près de son lieu de résidence.

Reçus - Les vétérans n'ont pas à soumettre leurs reçus avec leur demande de remboursement de frais de déplacements à des fins médicales à moins qu'Anciens Combattants Canada n'en fasse la demande. Ils doivent toujours obtenir les reçus et les vérifications de rendez-vous et garder ces reçus originaux pour une période d'un an suivant la demande de remboursement, au cas où ceux-ci soient exigés aux fins de révision.

Pour un complément d’information, veuillez consulter les renseignements sur les déplacements à des fins médicales pour les vétérans, les renseignements sur les déplacements à des fins médicales ou la politique sur les déplacements à des fins médicales.

Si vous êtes inscrit à Mon dossier ACC, vous pouvez accéder au guide et présenter les formulaires en ligne, dès maintenant. Vous n’êtes pas inscrit? N’attendez pas. Inscrivez-vous dès aujourd’hui!

Avez-vous trouvé ce que vous cherchiez?

Utilisez notre outil de recherche ou contactez-nous 1-866-522-2022, du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30, heure locale.

Vous vivez à l’extérieur du Canada?

Du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30, heure de l’Est

États-Unis 1-888-996-2242
Royaume-Uni, Allemagne, France ou Belgique 00-800-996-22421
Ailleurs 1-613-996-2242 (à frais virés)

Date de modification :