Research and information

Image 1

What is mental health?

Mental health is a state of psychological well-being characterized by continuing personal growth, a sense of purpose in life, an ability to focus, prioritize and plan effectively, self acceptance and positive relations with others. Our mental health is expressed through how we think, feel and act in response to the challenges of daily life.

Mental health in Canadian Veterans

Veterans, like other Canadians, can experience feelings of sadness, anger, frustration and low self-esteem. In most cases these feelings are brief, easily relieved by taking a break or a change in circumstances, and have little or no impact on their ability to function. When it does impact their ability to function, timely professional help can be very effective.

What is an operational stress injury?

An operational stress injury (OSI) is any persistent psychological difficulty resulting from operational duties performed while serving in the Canadian Armed Forces or as a member of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. It is used to describe a broad range of problems which include diagnosed psychiatric conditions such as anxiety disorders, depression, and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) as well as other conditions that may be less severe, but still interfere with daily functioning.

Did you know?

  • In a 2003 national study, 77% of all Canadian (Second World War and Canadian Armed Forces) Veterans rated their mental health as good or very good, higher than the 72% rate for non-Veterans.
  • About one-fifth of Canadian Veterans experience a diagnosed mental health disorder at some time during their lives– the most common are depression, PTSD and anxiety disorders.
  • Many health conditions that affect the brain can be associated with emotional and behavioural problems.
  • In a 2010 study of Veterans who released from service between 1998 and 2007, about 24% reported they had a diagnosed mental health condition such as PTSD, depression or anxiety. Of those with a diagnosed mental health condition, 95% also had a chronic physical health condition.
Date modified:

Recherche et renseignements

Image 1

Qu'est-ce que la santé mentale?

La santé mentale est un état de bien-être psychologique caractérisé par une croissance personnelle continue; le sentiment d'avoir un but dans la vie; la capacité de se concentrer, d'établir des priorités et de planifier de manière efficace; l'acceptation de soi et des relations positives avec les autres. Notre santé mentale s'exprime par notre manière de penser, de se sentir et de réagir face aux défis de la vie quotidienne.

La santé mentale des vétérans canadiens

Au même titre que le reste des Canadiens, les vétérans peuvent eux aussi vivre des moments de tristesse, de colère, de frustration et de faible estime de soi. La plupart du temps, tout revient facilement à la normale après un bref congé ou un changement de circonstances sans avoir nui à leur capacité de fonctionner. Cependant, si plus rien ne va, consulter sans tarder un professionnel peut être très bénéfique.

Qu'est-ce qu'une blessure de stress opérationnel?

Une blessure liée au stress opérationnel désigne tout problème psychologique persistant découlant de l'exercice de fonctions dans les Forces armées canadiennes ou la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. L'expression désigne également une vaste gamme de problèmes, notamment des problèmes médicaux diagnostiqués comme les troubles anxieux, la dépression et l'état de stress post-traumatique, ainsi que d'autres problèmes moins sévères qui entravent tout de même le fonctionnement au quotidien.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Selon une étude menée au Canada en 2003, 77 % des vétérans canadiens (toutes générations confondues) ont évalué leur santé mentale à bonne ou à très bonne, ce qui est plus élevé que les 72 % dans le reste de la population.
  • Environ un vétéran canadien sur cinq a reçu un diagnostique de trouble de santé mentale au cours de sa vie; les plus courants sont la dépendance, la dépression, un état de stress post-traumatique et un trouble d'anxiété.
  • De nombreux problèmes de santé qui affectent le cerveau sont associés à des problèmes affectifs et comportementaux.
  • Selon une étude menée en 2010 auprès de vétérans libérés des Forces entre 1998 et 2007, environ 24 % ont signalé avoir reçu un diagnostique de blessure de stress opérationnel, dont un état de stress post-traumatique, de dépression ou d'anxiété. Parmi ceux atteints d'une blessure de stress opérationnel, 95 % avaient aussi un problème de santé physique chronique.
Date de modification :