Cannabis for Medical Purposes

The health and well-being of Veterans is a top priority for the Government of Canada. This was the fundamental consideration in the development of VAC’s new reimbursement policy for cannabis for medical purposes.

The reimbursement policy on cannabis for medical purposes became effective on November 22, 2016. The policy establishes a reimbursement limit of three grams per day of cannabis for medical purposes sold by licensed producers or its equivalent in fresh marijuana or cannabis oil.

There is an exceptional approval process for Veterans authorized for more than three grams per day that will ensure their health and well-being through consultation with relevant medical specialists.

Consistent with how the Department administers its other health care benefits, a rate of up to $8.50 per gram has been established. The rate will ensure that what Veterans are charged, and the Department reimburses, is a fair market value price.

On Friday, November 10, the Government of Canada announced the launch of consultations on how the excise duty will be applied to cannabis. Consultations will be ongoing until December 7, 2017.

At this point it is unclear what impact, if any, the excise duty might have on products that Veterans access. We will watch the situation closely and make adjustments to the reimbursement policy, as necessary, so that clients are not out of pocket as a result of these tax implications.

Interested individuals or organizations are invited to review the Finance Canada consultations documents. Individuals can also provide written comments by December 7, 2017 to fin.cannabis-taxation-cannabis.fin@canada.ca.

Are you having trouble finding a specialist? Your provincial chapter of College of Family Physicians of Canada can help.

Related information

Date modified:

Cannabis à des fins médicales

La santé et le bien-être des vétérans constituent une priorité absolue pour le gouvernement du Canada. C’est la considération fondamentale qui a mené à l’élaboration de la nouvelle politique de remboursement du cannabis à des fins médicales d’ACC.

Une politique de remboursement du cannabis à des fins médicales est entrée en vigueur le 22 novembre 2016. La politique établit la limite de remboursement à trois grammes par jour de cannabis à des fins médicales vendu par des producteurs autorisés ou l’équivalent en marihuana fraîche ou en huile de cannabis.

Il y a un processus de reconnaissance des circonstances exceptionnelles pour les vétérans autorisés à utiliser plus de trois grammes par jour, dans le but d’assurer leur santé et leur bien-être au moyen de consultations avec les spécialistes concernés.

Conformément à la façon dont le Ministère administre ses autres avantages médicaux, un taux a été établi pouvant aller jusqu’à 8,50 $ par gramme. Le taux permettra de s’assurer que les coûts sont facturés aux vétérans et que le Ministère les rembourse selon la juste valeur marchande.

Le vendredi 10 novembre, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu’il entamera des consultations sur la manière dont le droit d’accise sera imposé sur le cannabis. Les consultations se poursuivront jusqu’au 7 décembre 2017.

Pour le moment, il n’a pas été déterminé si le droit d’accise aura des répercussions sur les produits qu’achètent les vétérans. Nous suivrons la situation de près et modifierons la politique sur le remboursement, au besoin, afin que les clients n’aient rien à débourser en raison de ces répercussions fiscales.

Les particuliers et les organismes intéressés sont invités à prendre connaissance des documents de consultation de Finances Canada. Les particuliers peuvent également soumettre leurs commentaires par écrit d’ici le 7 décembre 2017 à l’adresse : fin.cannabis-taxation-cannabis.fin@canada.ca.

Date de modification :