The Faces of Peace: Veterans of the Canadian Armed Forces

Introduction

The mission of Canadian Armed Forces members is to defend our country, its interests and its values, while contributing to international peace and security. They serve in many capacities at home and throughout the world carrying on Canada's proud military tradition. Over the years, many Canadian Armed Forces Veterans have served overseas in a variety of United Nations (UN), North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and other multinational task forces.

International peace missions often have positive effects but the strife, conflict and death that can surround these efforts is not always easy to handle. Being separated from friends and family for months at a time, the possibility of witnessing extreme violence and cruelty, of having to use force or have force used against you, and the realization that you could be killed or wounded while carrying out your duties are some of the experiences that many Canadian Armed Forces Veterans know well.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

International Efforts

During the first half of the 20th century, some 1.7 million Canadians were called upon to defend peace and freedom around the world during the First World War, the Second World War and the Korean War. Following these terrible conflicts, in which more than 110,000 Canadians died, Canada and other countries felt that it was better to try to prevent wars when possible than fight them. Our country played a leading role in the peacekeeping movement from the outset. In fact, a Canadian, Lester B. Pearson, won the 1957 Nobel Peace Prize for his pioneering vision in helping establish a UN force to prevent the Suez Crisis of the 1950s from escalating into a global confrontation.

Since then, Canada's commitment to international peace efforts and other overseas military actions has continued. Some of the places Canadians have served include Egypt, Cyprus, Syria, the Persian Gulf, the former Yugoslavia, Somalia, Haiti, Rwanda, Ethiopia and Eritrea, East Timor, and Afghanistan.

Peace Mission Challenges

Peacekeeping is based on the idea that having a force of impartial troops present in a regional conflict can help reduce tensions and improve the chance of peaceful settlement to a violent conflict. But filling this role is demanding work. Put yourself in the boots of a person leaving on an international peace mission. You could be called upon to monitor cease-fires, patrol buffer zones, act as an intermediary between clashing groups, clear land mines, investigate war crimes, protect refugees and provide humanitarian assistance.

The role of the Canadian Armed Forces now involves all aspects of peace support, including peace-making and peace-building. The skills and training needed for peace support includes combat skills as well as contact skills. Their lives and the lives of others often depend on their skill in both areas and their ability to use both at the right time.

Each situation encountered by the Canadian Armed Forces when they enter into a new peace mission is unique. Canadian Armed Forces members returning from peace missions often remark that "there was very little peace to keep," a reference to the fact that our military is often asked to intervene in situations of full-fledged war where the environment is not at all peaceful.

Facts and Figures

  • The number of Canadians who have served has varied greatly over the years, according to the needs of our country and the world. Over one million Canadians served during the Second World War. Our present-day military numbers are approximately 68,000 regular force members and 27,000 reservists.
  • More than 125,000 Canadian Armed Forces members have served in dozens of international peace missions to more than 35 countries over the past six decades. Approximately 130 Canadians have died in these efforts and many more have suffered physical and mental injury.
  • The Canadian Armed Forces perform many other important functions. Search-and-rescue operations, patrolling our air space and territorial waters, supporting anti-drug operations and helping out in the aftermath of natural disasters, such as the Manitoba Flood of 1997 or the Great Ice Storm of 1998, are just a sample of some of these vital duties.

Heroes and Bravery

In 1988, the prestigious Nobel Peace Prize was collectively awarded to the world's peacekeepers, including thousands of Canadians, who served in UN missions during that year. This honour inspired Canada to create the Canadian Peacekeeping Service Medal. Tens of thousands of serving Canadian Armed Forces members and Veterans proudly wear this medal.

International peace missions have a large element of reaching out. While there is always a political element to peace missions, the on-the-ground efforts are often characterized by human emotion and compassion. For example, during the UN peace efforts in Somalia in the early 1990s, Naval Lieutenant Heather MacKinnon operated a medical clinic, worked in hospitals and orphanages and provided humanitarian assistance to the victims of war and famine in the embattled city of Mogadishu. It was a tense and dangerous time, and the risks of working there were very real. Lt. MacKinnon helped many people in this time of great upheaval and laid the groundwork for further relief efforts in the battered country.

Sacrifice

Female Canadian Armed Forces member in the cabin of a military vehicle.

Many Canadians have served on several international missions in the course of their careers, repeatedly fulfilling their duties against the constant background of danger. One example of this special effort comes from Master Corporal Mark Isfeld. He was a combat engineer who served in three peace missions before losing his life in a land mine explosion in Croatia in 1994. This Canadian soldier was known for giving children in war-torn regions handmade dolls that his mother and others in Canada had made. He passed out these dolls to try to bring a little happiness and hope to the children. After his tragic death, the story began to spread of how he touched childrens' lives with those handmade dolls from Canada. Thousands of these dolls then began to flood in from people all across Canada who decided to make dolls for other Canadian soldiers to give away overseas and keep M.Cpl. Isfeld's tradition alive. The dolls have since become known as Izzy dolls.

Canadian Armed Forces Veterans have made many personal and global achievements, and have made personal sacrifices to defend Canada's interests and its values, while contributing to international peace and security. These men and women take their honoured place in our country's military history beside their fellow Veterans and fallen comrades of Canada's earlier war efforts. Their commitment has earned Canada a worldwide reputation as a country that supports and protects peace.

Canada Remembers Program

As the years have passed, the focus of commemorative events like Remembrance Day has expanded. Where once they centred on the achievements and sacrifices of the Veterans of the World Wars and Korea, they now include the Veterans of peacetime Canadian Armed Forces activities.

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by Canada's Veterans during times of war, military conflict and peace, and to become involved in remembrance activities that will help to preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Les visages de la paix : les vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes

Introduction

La mission des membres des Forces armées canadiennes est de défendre notre pays, ses intérêts et ses valeurs, tout en concourant à la paix et à la sécurité dans le monde. Ils servent à divers titres, au pays et à l'étranger, et ils font honneur à la fière tradition militaire du Canada.

Au fil des ans, bon nombre de vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes ont servi outre-mer dans diverses forces opérationnelles de l'Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), de l'Organisation du traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN) et d'autres forces multinationales.

Les missions de paix internationales ont souvent des effets positifs, mais les dissensions, le conflit et la mort qui entourent ces réalisations ne sont pas toujours faciles à gérer. Le fait d'être loin des amis et de la famille pendant des mois, la possibilité d'être témoin de violence et de cruauté extrêmes, de devoir se servir de la force ou d'en être la victime et la prise de conscience qu'on peut être tué ou blessé dans l'exercice de ses fonctions sont des réalités que de nombreux vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes connaissent bien.

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Intervention de la communauté internationale

Dans la première moitié du XXe siècle, environ 1,7 million de Canadiens ont été appelés pour défendre la paix et la liberté dans le monde au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et de la guerre de Corée. À la suite de ces terribles conflits, au cours desquels plus de 110 000 Canadiens ont perdu la vie, le Canada et d'autres pays ont pensé qu'il valait mieux essayer d'empêcher la guerre que de la faire. Notre pays a joué d'emblée un rôle prédominant dans le mouvement de maintien de la paix; le Canadien Lester B. Pearson a en effet mérité le Prix Nobel de la paix en 1957 pour avoir eu l'intuition d'établir une force de l'ONU afin d'empêcher la crise de Suez dans les années 1950 de dégénérer en conflit mondial.

Depuis, le Canada a toujours continué de participer aux efforts de paix internationaux et à d'autres opérations militaires à l'étranger. Les Canadiens ont notamment servi en Égypte, à Chypre, en Syrie, dans le golfe Persique, en ex-Yougoslavie, en Somalie, à Haïti, au Rwanda, en Éthiopie et en Érythrée, au Timor-Leste et en Afghanistan.

Enjeux des missions de paix

Le maintien de la paix est fondé sur l'idée que la présence d'une force de troupes impartiales dans un conflit régional peut réduire les tensions et améliorer les chances de règlement pacifique d'un conflit sanglant. Ce rôle est cependant exigeant. Mettez vous à la place d'une personne qui part en mission de paix internationale. Vous pourriez être appelé à surveiller le respect d'un cessez-le-feu, à patrouiller dans des zones tampons, à servir d'intermédiaire entre des factions opposées, à déblayer des champs de mines, à enquêter sur des crimes de guerre, à protéger des réfugiés et à fournir de l'aide humanitaire.

Le rôle des Forces armées canadiennes englobe de nos jours tous les aspects du soutien de la paix, y compris l'édification de la paix et la consolidation de la paix. Les compétences et la formation nécessaires au soutien de la paix regroupent les aptitudes à combattre et les aptitudes à communiquer. La vie des membres et celle d'autres personnes dépend souvent des compétences des premiers à ces deux égards et de leur capacité de s'en servir au moment opportun.

Chaque situation de mission de paix est différente. Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui rentrent de missions de paix vont souvent observer « qu'il y avait bien peu de paix à maintenir », ce qui veut dire que nos forces doivent souvent intervenir dans des situations de guerre ouverte où le climat est bien loin d'être pacifique.

Statistiques

  • Le nombre de Canadiens qui ont servi a beaucoup changé au fil des ans, en fonction des besoins de notre pays et de ceux du monde entier. Plus d'un million de Canadiens ont servi au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, mais nos forces militaires comptent actuellement environ 68 000 membres de la Force régulière et 27 000 réservistes.
  • Plus de 125 000 membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont participé à des dizaines de missions de paix internationales dans plus de 35 pays au cours des soixante dernières années. Environ 130 Canadiens sont morts au cours de ces missions, et de nombreux autres ont enduré des blessures physiques et psychiques.
  • Les Forces armées canadiennes exécutent de nombreuses autres fonctions importantes. Les opérations de recherche et de sauvetage, les patrouilles de notre espace aérien et de nos eaux territoriales, le soutien des opérations d'interception de drogues et l'aide à la suite de catastrophes naturelles, comme l'inondation du Manitoba en 1997 et la tempête de verglas en 1998, ne sont que quelques exemples de ces fonctions essentielles.

Héroïsme et bravoure

En 1988, le Prix Nobel de la paix a été attribué collectivement aux gardiens de la paix du monde entier, dont des milliers de Canadiens, qui avaient servi dans des missions de l'ONU cette année-là. Cette marque d'honneur a donné au Canada l'idée d'instituer la Médaille canadienne du maintien de la paix, qu'arborent fièrement des dizaines de milliers de membres actifs et d'anciens combattants des Forces armées canadiennes.

Dans les missions de paix internationales, il faut être prêt à « tendre la main ». Ces missions comportent toujours un volet politique, mais les efforts sur le terrain sont souvent empreints d'émotion et de compassion. Par exemple, au cours des missions de paix de l'ONU en Somalie au début des années 1990, le lieutenant de vaisseau Heather MacKinnon a assuré le fonctionnement d'une clinique médicale, travaillé dans des hôpitaux et des orphelinats et fourni de l'aide humanitaire aux victimes de la guerre et de la famine dans la ville fortifiée de Mogadishu. C'était une période tendue et dangereuse, et les risques auxquels s'exposaient les personnes qui travaillaient là étaient tout à fait réels. Le lt MacKinnon a aidé beaucoup de gens durant cette période de profond bouleversement, et elle a effectué le travail de base pour l'aide qui allait être ensuite apportée à ce pays tant éprouvé.

Sacrifices

Membre des Forces armées canadiennes dans la cabine d'un véhicule militaire.

Nombreux sont les Canadiens qui ont participé à quelques missions internationales au cours de leur carrière, exécutant à plusieurs reprises leurs fonctions dans un climat constant de danger. L'exemple du caporal-chef Mark Isfeld illustre bien cet effort spécial. Ce sapeur militaire a servi dans trois missions de paix avant de perdre la vie dans une explosion de mine terrestre en Croatie, en 1994. Il avait l'habitude de donner aux enfants des régions déchirées par la guerre des poupées confectionnées par sa mère et d'autres personnes au Canada. Il voulait ainsi apporter aux enfants un peu de joie et d'espoir. Après sa mort tragique, l'histoire s'est répandue à savoir à quel point il avait touché la vie des enfants grâce aux poupées artisanales du Canada. Des gens de tous les coins du pays ont alors commencé à faire des « poupées Izzy » et à les envoyer par milliers afin que d'autres soldats canadiens puissent les donner aux enfants de pays en guerre et perpétuer ainsi la tradition établie par le caporal-chef Isfeld.

Les anciens combattants des Forces armées canadiennes ont accompli de nombreux exploits, à titre individuel et collectif, et ont consenti des sacrifices personnels pour défendre les intérêts et les valeurs du Canada tout en contribuant à la paix et à la sécurité dans le monde. Ces femmes et ces hommes occupent une place d'honneur dans l'histoire militaire de notre pays, aux côtés des anciens combattants des efforts de guerre antérieurs du Canada et de leurs camarades tombés au combat. Leur engagement a valu au Canada la réputation d'un pays qui soutient et protège la paix.

Programme Le Canada se souvient

Avec les années, l'objectif des cérémonies commémoratives comme le jour du Souvenir a pris plus d'ampleur. Alors que ces cérémonies visaient autrefois les réalisations et les sacrifices des anciens combattants des guerres mondiales et de la guerre de Corée, elles englobent à présent les activités des anciens combattants des Forces armées canadiennes en temps de paix.

Le programme Le Canada se souvient, d'Anciens Combattants Canada, encourage le peuple canadien à se renseigner sur les réalisations des anciens combattants du Canada et les sacrifices qu'ils ont consentis en temps de guerre, de conflit armé ou de paix, et à participer aux activités de commémoration qui permettent de préserver pour les générations à venir l'héritage qu'ils ont légué.

Date de modification :