Veterans’ Week Posters

Each year Veterans Affairs Canada commissions the design of a poster to commemorate Veterans’ Week. It is hoped that these posters will remind Canadians of the sacrifices and achievements made by Canada’s Veterans during times of war and peace. Remembering and reflecting on the significance of the contribution they made, and continue to make, strengthens the commitment to preserve the values that they fought and died for - truth, justice, peace, freedom and knowledge.

Over the years, the Veterans’ Week posters have been both artistic and photographic in nature. Themes have ranged from marking specific battles or events to portraying the very personal side of war and peace. The posters date back to 1982.

In recent years, matching postcards, bookmarks, and web site activities have also been added to increase visibility and awareness. The Canada Remembers Program would like Canadians of all ages to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve the legacy of Veterans and their efforts for future generations.

Date modified:

Affiches de la Semaine des vétérans

Chaque année, Anciens Combattants Canada produit une affiche originale en vue de promouvoir la Semaine des vétérans. L’affiche vise à rappeler aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes les sacrifices et les réalisations des vétérans et des gardiens de la paix canadiens, en temps de guerre ou de paix. En nous souvenant de leurs contributions, autant passées qu’actuelles, et en réfléchissant à leur importance, nous renforçons notre engagement à préserver les valeurs au nom desquelles ils ont combattu et péri — la vérité, la justice, la paix, la liberté et le savoir.

Au fil des ans, les affiches ont été de nature artistique et photographique. Certaines soulignaient des batailles ou de grands événements historiques, alors que d’autres portaient sur des aspects très personnels de la guerre et de la paix. La première affiche remonte à 1982.

Depuis quelques années, on reproduit l’affiche sur des cartes postales, des signets et des pages web afin d’accroître la visibilité auprès du public. Le programme Le Canada se souvient a pour but d’inciter les Canadiens et les Canadiennes de tous les âges à participer aux activités commémoratives et d’aider à préserver le souvenir des efforts des vétérans pour les générations futures.

Date de modification :