Canadian Armed Forces Pay and Allowance Increase

Background:

The Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) announced a pay and allowance increase for CAF members on June 2, 2017. Former members—those who left the Canadian Armed Forces after March 31, 2014—will receive a lump sum back-payment and adjustments to their retirement benefits based on the new rates effective at their release (starting June 30, 2017).

Q1: Who will be affected by CAF’s pay and allowance increase?

Veterans who left the Canadian Armed Forces after March 31, 2014 and receive a financial benefit from Veterans Affairs Canada may be affected by the recent pay and allowance increase. A letter will be sent to the Veteran if there are any changes to the Veteran’s financial benefits.

Q2: What Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) benefits will be affected by the Canadian Armed Force’s pay and allowance increase?

A number of financial benefits may be affected by CAF’s pay and allowance increase, including:

  • Earnings Loss Benefit (ELB)
  • Canadian Forces Income Support (CFIS)
  • Career Impact Allowance (CIA)
  • Supplementary Retirement Benefit (SRB)
  • Retirement Income Security Benefit (RISB)

Q3. How will Veterans be notified if their benefits are affected?

A letter will be sent to the Veteran if there are any changes to their Financial Benefits.

Q4. If a Veteran’s financial benefit(s) is/are affected, when will they be notified?

Veterans Affairs Canada is working closely with the Canadian Armed Forces and Public Services and Procurement Canada to obtain the required information. Veterans Affairs Canada will begin processing payment changes as soon as the information is available.

Q5. If a Veteran receives money from the Department of National Defence, will this affect their Financial Benefit payments from Veterans Affairs Canada?

If a Veteran receives any of the VAC benefits listed above, their payments may be affected as a result of changes to their pre-release military salary or Canadian Forces Superannuation. A letter will be sent to the Veteran if there are any changes to their Financial Benefits.

Q6. Could this possibly result in an overpayment situation?

Lump sum and salary changes may result in additional payments or overpayments depending on individual circumstances. A letter will be sent to the Veteran if there are any changes to their Financial Benefits.

Q7. Will a veteran have to submit new income information to Veterans Affairs Canada?

Veterans Affairs Canada is working closely with the Canadian Armed Forces and Public Services and Procurement Canada to obtain the required information. There may be some cases where Veterans need to provide information directly to VAC.

Q8. If a Veteran was released from the Canadian Armed Forces after March 31, 2014, what is the first thing they need to do?

Contact the Release Personnel Pay Office. Former CAF members will need to confirm that they have the correct banking and address information for their back-payments. Any banking updates need to be sent by e-mail and will not be accepted over the telephone.

Call: 1-800-773-7705

E-mail:
Regular Force DND.RPPOREG-LRDTSA.MDN@forces.gc.ca; or
Reserve Force RPPOReserve@forces.gc.ca

Q9. Where can Veterans and their families find more information about CAF’s pay and allowance increase?

More information is available at forces.gc.ca.

Q10. How will this affect my taxes?

We are working with other government departments to better understand the impacts on your financial benefits. The Canada Revenue Agency or Revenu Québec provide direction on how taxes are calculated. They may be able to answer your tax-related questions. I am happy to provide you with their contact information.

Canada Revenue Agency: 1-800-267-6999
Revenu Québec: 1-800-267-6299

Date modified:

L’augmentation de la solde et des indemnités des Forces armées canadiennes

Contexte :

Les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) ont annoncé une augmentation de la solde et des indemnités pour les membres des FAC le 2 juin 2017. Les anciens membres ceux qui ont quitté les FAC après le 31 mars 2014 recevront un paiement forfaitaire rétroactif et des ajustements de leurs prestations de retraite fondés sur les nouveaux tarifs en vigueur à leur libération (à compter du 30 juin 2017).

Q1: Qui sera touché par la récente augmentation de la solde et des indemnités des FAC?

Un vétéran qui a quitté les FAC après le 31 mars 2014 et qui reçoit d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) des prestations fondées sur le revenu pourrait être touché par la récente augmentation de solde et d’indemnités.Une lettre sera envoyée aux vétérans si des modifications sont apportées à leurs avantages financiers.

Q2: Quelles sont les prestations d’ACC qui seront touchées par la récente augmentation de solde et d’indemnités des Forces armées canadiennes?

Plusieurs prestations pourraient être touchées par la récente augmentation de solde et d’indemnités des FAC, notamment :

  • L’allocation pour perte de revenus (APR)
  • L’allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes (SRFC)
  • L’allocation pour incidence sur la carrière (AIC)
  • La prestation de retraite supplémentaire (PRS)
  • L’allocation de sécurité du revenu de retraite (ASRR)

Q3. Comment les vétérans seront-ils informés si leurs prestations sont touchées?

Une lettre sera envoyée aux vétérans si des modifications sont apportées à leurs avantages financiers.

Q4. Si les prestations d’un vétéran sont affectées, quand en sera-t-il informé?

Anciens Combattants Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec les Forces armées canadiennes et Travaux publics et Approvisionnement Canada pour obtenir les renseignements nécessaires. Anciens Combattants Canada commencera à traiter les changements de paiement dès que les renseignements seront disponibles.

Q5. Si un vétéran reçoit de l’argent du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN), quelle sera l’incidence sur le paiement de ses avantages financiers par Anciens Combattants Canada?

Si un vétéran reçoit l’une ou des prestations d’ACC ci-haut mentionnées, les changements apportés au montant de sa pension de retraite des Forces canadiennes peuvent avoir une incidence sur ces paiements. Une lettre lui sera acheminée si des changements sont apportés à ses avantages financiers.

Q6. Est ce que cela donnera lieu à un paiement en trop?

Le montant forfaitaire et les changements à la solde pourraient donner lieu à des paiements supplémentaires ou à des paiements en trop, selon les circonstances individuelles. Une lettre sera envoyée aux vétérans si des modifications sont apportées à leurs avantages financiers.

Q7. Les vétérans devront-ils soumettre de nouveaux renseignements sur le revenu à Anciens Combattants Canada?

Anciens Combattants Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec les Forces armées canadiennes et Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada afin d’obtenir les renseignements requis. Il peut y avoir des cas où les participants au programme seront tenus de fournir des renseignements directement à ACC.

Q8. Quelle est la première chose à faire pour un vétéran libéré des FAC après le 31 mars 2014?

Communiquer avec le bureau de la solde de sa section des libérations. Il devra confirmer que les renseignements qu’ils possèdent concernant son compte bancaire et son adresse sont exacts afin de recevoir ses paiements rétroactifs.

Par téléphone : 1 800 773 7705

Par courriel :
DND.RPPOREG-LRDTSA.MDN@forces.gc.ca; ou
RPPOReserve@forces.gc.ca

Q9. Où est-il possible pour les vétérans et leur famille de trouver plus de renseignements sur l’augmentation de solde et d’indemnités des FAC?

Plus de renseignements se trouvent sur le site forces.gc.ca.

Q10. Quelles seront les répercussions sur l’impôt que je dois payer?

Nous travaillons de concert avec d’autres ministères gouvernementaux pour mieux comprendre les répercussions sur vos avantages financiers. L’Agence du revenu du Canada ou Revenu Québec fournissent des renseignements sur les méthodes de calcul de l’impôt. Ils pourront répondre à vos questions relatives à l’impôt. C’est avec plaisir que je vous transmets leurs coordonnées.

Agence du revenu du Canada : 1-800-267-6999
Revenu Québec : 1-800-267-6299

Date de modification :