Photo Galleries

Government of Canada investment in Invictus Games Toronto 2017

Government of Canada investment in Invictus Games Toronto 2017
5 Images

June 15, 2017

On June 15th, the Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence, announced Government of Canada funding in support of the Invictus Games Toronto 2017. The Government of Canada will contribute up to $17.5 million to support the Invictus Games Toronto 2017 Organizing Committee in bringing this major international adaptive sporting event to Canada.

Minister Hehr attends the Royal Canadian Legion’s (RCL) 50th Ontario Provincial Command Biennial Convention

Minister Hehr attends the Royal Canadian Legion’s (RCL) 50<sup>th</sup> Ontario Provincial Command Biennial Convention
10 Images

May 18, 2017

The Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence, participated in the RCL’s 50th Provincial Command Convention that began with a wreath laying ceremony and parade on Sunday May 14th at the Boer War Monument at Victoria Park in London, Ontario. During the afternoon the Minister addressed the delegates as part of the opening ceremonies by highlighting the Government of Canada’s support for Veterans and their families through recent announcements from Budget 2017. The Minister recognized the RCL and its members for their remarkable work and wished them a productive convention.

Budget 2017: Moose Jaw

Budget 2017: Moose Jaw
2 Images

April 26, 2017

The Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence, met with Canadian Forces Members and their families at the Military Family Resource Centre (MFRC) in Moose Jaw to provide details on Budget 2017 initiatives to assist Canada’s Veterans and their families.

Budget 2017 builds on the foundation that was established in Budget 2016 and will recognize the important role of caregivers, help more families, support mental health and provide for the education and training Veterans need to find the work they want in their post-military lives.

Budget 2017 would expand access to all 32 MFRCs across Canada following the success of a pilot project that allowed access for medically released Veterans and their families to seven MFRCs. Previously, these services were only for still-serving members of the Canadian Armed Forces.

More information: Government of Canada details enhanced support for Veterans and their families

Veterans Affairs Canada office reopens in Windsor
1 Riverside Drive West location will serve approximately 2,700 Veterans

Veterans Affairs Canada office reopens in Windsor<br />1 Riverside Drive West location will serve approximately 2,700 Veterans
3 Images

April 21, 2017

On April 21, 2017, Veterans, their families and local officials today joined Sherry Romanado, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence, for the reopening of the Veterans Affairs Canada office in Windsor, Ontario.

The office is located at 1 Riverside Drive West, 6th floor (Suite 660), Windsor, Ontario. The Windsor office will employ approximately 15 staff who will serve close to 2,700 Veterans in the area. Staff at the office will answer questions about VAC services and benefits; arrange pension medical examinations; and assist Veterans with completing and submitting applications and receipts. Case-managed Veterans will also be able to meet with their case manager.

Carewest OSI Clinic Expansion Opening

Carewest OSI Clinic Expansion Opening
3 Images

April 21, 2017

On Friday April 21st, Veterans, their families and Carewest OSI Clinic employees joined the Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence, for the opening of the Carewest OSI Clinic expansion in Calgary, Alberta. In partnership with Alberta Health Services, Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) funded the expansion at the Carewest Operational Stress Injury (OSI) Clinic. The expansion allows for future growth to meet not only the needs of Veterans, but also those of serving Canadian Armed Forces members and current and former RCMP members. More information

Government of Canada details enhanced support for Veterans and their families

Government of Canada details enhanced support for Veterans and their families
3 Images

April 18, 2017

On Tuesday April 18, at Georgian College, the Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence, announced several new educational initiatives available to Veterans as part of Budget 2017. The announcement was followed by a visit at CFB Borden to meet with Canadian Armed Forces Members to talk about what Budget 2017 means for them.

Budget 2017 builds on the foundation that was established in Budget 2016 and will recognize the important role of caregivers, help more families, support mental health and provide for the education and training Veterans need to find the work they want in their post-military lives.

One of the most significant items introduced in this year’s budget – the new Education and Training benefit - provides up to $80,000 of financial support for the costs of college, university or technical education. Veterans will be able to make choices that best suit their family’s situation during their transition.

This benefit supports Veterans in achieving their education and future post-military employment goals and positions them to be more competitive in the workforce.

The Government also plans to redesign the Career Transition Services (CTS) program to ensure that Veterans, reservists, survivors, spouses and common law partners have the knowledge, skills and abilities required to search for employment in the civilian work force.

Veterans Affairs Canada office reopens in Thunder Bay

Veterans Affairs Canada office reopens in Thunder Bay
7 Images

January 31, 2017

Veterans, their families and local officials joined Don Rusnak, Member of Parliament for Thunder Bay—Rainy River, on behalf of the Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister for Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence, for the reopening of the Veterans Affairs Canada office in Thunder Bay, Ontario. Following MP Rusnak, the Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour, also delivered remarks.

The office is located on the first floor of 130 Syndicate Avenue South, Thunder Bay, Ontario. The Thunder Bay office will employ approximately seven staff, who will serve approximately 1,700 Veterans in the area.

The Thunder Bay office is the seventh of nine Veterans Affairs offices to be reopened across the country by May 2017.

More information: Veterans Affairs Canada office reopens in Thunder Bay

Invictus Games Toronto 2017 Team Canada co-captains at House of Commons

Invictus Games Toronto 2017 Team Canada co-captains at House of Commons
4 Images

December 07, 2016

On December 7th, the Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence, met Invictus Games Toronto 2017 Team Canada co-captains Natacha Dupuis and Simon Mailloux in the House of Commons.

New resources to help skilled Veterans build meaningful new careers

New resources to help skilled Veterans build meaningful new careers
3 Images

November 15, 2016

On November 15th, on behalf of the Honourable MaryAnn Mihychuk, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour, the Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence announced that Veterans will get the information and training they need to build meaningful new careers.

Canada Company is receiving $1.1 million from the Government of Canada’s Sectoral Initiatives Program for its National Military Recruitment program. The announcement was made at Canada Company’s 2016 National Transition exCHANGE conference taking place at the Canada Aviation and Space Museum.

More information: News Release

Canadian Veterans participate in annual Candlelight Tribute

Canadian Veterans participate in annual Candlelight Tribute
7 Images

November 07, 2016

The Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence, joined His Worship Jim Watson, Mayor of Ottawa, and Mr. Stephen Quick, Director General, Canadian War Museum, this evening at the Canadian War Museum for the 17th annual Candlelight Tribute honouring Canada’s Veterans.

The event featured a symbolic passing of the torch of remembrance, during which Veterans handed candles to youth. The moving tradition pays respect to the many brave men and women in uniform who have served Canada throughout the years to protect our shared values.

More information: News Release

Date modified:

Galeries de photos

Investissement du gouvernement du Canada dans les Jeux Invictus 2017 de Toronto

Investissement du gouvernement du Canada dans les Jeux Invictus 2017 de Toronto
5 images

15 juin 2017

Le 15 juin, l’honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, a annoncé un financement du gouvernement du Canada pour appuyer les Jeux Invictus 2017 de Toronto. Le gouvernement du Canada versera jusqu’à 17,5 millions de dollars afin d’aider le comité organisateur des Jeux Invictus 2017 de Toronto à présenter cet important événement international de sports adaptés au Canada.

Le ministre Hehr assiste au 50e Congrès biennal de la Direction provinciale de l’Ontario de la Légion royale canadienne (LRC)

Le ministre Hehr assiste au 50<sup>e</sup> Congrès biennal de la Direction provinciale de l’Ontario de la Légion royale canadienne (LRC)
10 images

18 mai 2017

L’honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, a participé au 50e Congrès de la Direction provinciale de la LRC, qui a débuté par une cérémonie de dépôt de couronnes et un défilé, le dimanche 14 mai, au Monument de la guerre des Boers situé au parc Victoria à London, en Ontario. En après-midi, le ministre s’est adressé aux délégués lors des cérémonies d’ouverture et a mis en relief les mesures de soutien que le gouvernement du Canada a annoncées récemment à l’intention des vétérans et de leur famille dans le cadre du Budget 2017. Le ministre a rendu hommage à la LRC et à ses membres pour leur travail remarquable, et leur a souhaité un excellent congrès.

Le Budget 2017: Moose Jaw

Le Budget 2017: Moose Jaw
2 images

26 avril 2017

L’honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, a rencontré des membres des Forces armées canadiennes et leur famille au Centre de ressources pour les familles des militaires (CRFM) à Moose Jaw pour donner les détails des initiatives du Budget 2017 visant à aider les vétérans du Canada et leur famille.

Le Budget 2017 repose sur les assises qui avaient été jetées au Budget 2016 et il annonce des mesures visant à reconnaître le rôle important que jouent les aidants, à assister un plus grand nombre de familles, à favoriser la santé mentale et à faciliter la formation dont les vétérans ont besoin pour trouver le travail qu’ils souhaitent obtenir après leur libération des Forces.

Le Budget 2017 permettra d’élargir l’accès au Programme pour les familles des vétérans dans les 32 CRFM au Canada. Un projet pilote accordait déjà aux vétérans libérés pour des raisons médicales et à leur famille l’accès à sept CRFM du pays, à la ligne d’information téléphonique pour les familles et au site Web. Auparavant, ces services n’étaient offerts qu’aux membres encore en service actif dans les Forces armées canadiennes.

Plus d’information : Le gouvernement du Canada annonce les détails du soutien amélioré pour les vétérans et leur famille

Réouverture du bureau d’Anciens Combattants Canada à Windsor
Le bureau situé au 1, rue Riverside Ouest offrira des services à environ 2 700 vétérans.

Réouverture du bureau d’Anciens Combattants Canada à Windsor<br />Le bureau situé au 1, rue Riverside Ouest offrira des services à environ 2 700 vétérans.
3 images

21 avril 2017

Le 21 avril 2017, des vétérans, leurs familles et des représentants locaux se sont joints à Sherry Romanado, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, pour la réouverture officielle du bureau d’Anciens Combattants Canada à Windsor, en Ontario.

Le bureau est situé au 1, rue Riverside Ouest, au 6e étage (bureau 660), à Windsor, en Ontario. Le bureau de Windsor comptera environ 15 employés qui offriront des services à près de 2 700 vétérans dans la région. Ces employés répondront aux questions au sujet des services et des avantages offerts par Anciens Combattants Canada. Ils prendront des dispositions pour les examens médicaux aux fins de pension, et ils aideront les vétérans à remplir des demandes et à soumettre les reçus requis. De plus, les vétérans qui reçoivent des services de gestion de cas pourront y rencontrer leur gestionnaire de cas.

Inauguration de l’expansion de la Clinique TSO Carewest

Inauguration de l’expansion de la Clinique TSO Carewest
3 images

21 avril 2017

Le vendredi, 21 avril, des vétérans, leur famille et des employés de la Clinique TSO Carewest se sont joints à l’honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale pour l’inauguration de l’expansion de la Clinique TSO Carewest à Calgary, Alberta. L’expansion de la Clinique pour traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel (TSO) Carewest facilitera la croissance future des services non seulement pour répondre aux besoins des vétérans, mais également à ceux des membres en service actif dans les Forces armées canadiennes et des anciens membres et membres actifs de la GRC. Pour en savoir plus

Le gouvernement du Canada fournit des détails sur le soutien amélioré pour les vétérans et leurs familles

Le gouvernement du Canada fournit des détails sur le soutien amélioré pour les vétérans et leurs familles
3 images

18 avril 2017

Le mardi 18 avril, au Collège Georgian, l’honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, a annoncé plusieurs nouvelles initiatives en matière d’éducation pour les vétérans dans le cadre du Budget 2017. L’annonce a été suivie par une visite à la BFC Borden pour y rencontrer des membres des Forces armées canadiennes et leur parler de ce que signifie pour eux le Budget 2017.

Le Budget 2017 prend appui sur les bases qui ont été établies dans le Budget 2016 et reconnaîtra le rôle important des aidants, aidera un plus grand nombre de familles, apportera un soutien accru en santé mentale, et permettra aux vétérans d’obtenir les études et la formation nécessaires pour trouver un emploi qui les intéresse après leur carrière militaire.

L’un des principaux éléments figurant dans le budget de cette année – la nouvelle prestation pour les études et la formation – fournit une aide financière pouvant aller jusqu’à 80 000 $ pour payer des études collégiales, universitaires ou techniques. Les vétérans seront en mesure de faire les choix qui conviennent le mieux à leur situation familiale au cours de leur transition.

Cette prestation aide les vétérans à atteindre leurs objectifs en matière d’études et leurs futurs objectifs d’emploi après le service militaire et les prépare pour être plus compétitifs sur le marché du travail.

Le gouvernement prévoit en outre remanier le programme de Services transition de carrière (STC) pour s’assurer que les vétérans, réservistes, survivants, époux et conjoints de fait possèdent les connaissances, les compétences et les capacités nécessaires pour chercher un emploi dans le milieu de travail civil.

Réouverture officielle du bureau d'Anciens Combattants Canada à Thunder Bay

Réouverture officielle du bureau d'Anciens Combattants Canada à Thunder Bay
7 images

31 janvier 2017

Les vétérans et leurs familles ainsi que les représentants locaux se sont joints aujourd’hui à Don Rusnak, député de Thunder Bay—Rainy River, au nom de l’honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, pour la réouverture officielle du bureau d’Anciens Combattants Canada à Thunder Bay (Ontario). Après le député Rusnak, l’honorable Patty Hajdu, ministre de l’Emploi, du Développement de la main-d’œuvre et du Travail, a prononcé une allocution.

Le bureau est situé au rez-de-chaussée du 130, avenue Syndicate Sud, Thunder Bay (Ontario). Le bureau de Thunder Bay embauchera environ sept employés qui serviront environ 1 700 vétérans dans la région.

Le bureau de Thunder Bay est le septième des neuf bureaux d’Anciens Combattants Canada de partout au Canada qui ouvriront de nouveau leurs portes d’ici mai 2017.

Plus d’information : Réouverture officielle du bureau d'Anciens Combattants Canada à Thunder Bay

Les cocapitaines d'Équipe Canada pour les Jeux Invictus de 2017 à Toronto à la Chambre des communes

Les cocapitaines d'Équipe Canada pour les Jeux Invictus de 2017  à Toronto à la Chambre des communes
4 images

7 décembre 2016

Le 7 décembre, l'honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, a rencontré Natacha Dupuis et Simon Mailloux, cocapitaines d'Équipe Canada pour les Jeux Invictus de 2017 à Toronto, à la Chambre des communes.

Des nouvelles ressources sont mises à la disposition de vétérans qualifiés afin de les aider à se bâtir une nouvelle carrière stimulante

Des nouvelles ressources sont mises à la disposition de vétérans qualifiés afin de les aider à se bâtir une nouvelle carrière stimulante
3 images

15 novembre 2016

Le 15 novembre, au nom de l’honorable MaryAnn Mihychuk, ministre de l’Emploi, du Développement de la main-d’œuvre et du Travail, l’honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, a annoncé que les vétérans obtiendront les renseignements et la formation dont ils ont besoin pour se bâtir une nouvelle carrière stimulante.

La Compagnie Canada reçoit un financement de 1,1 million de dollars dans le cadre du Programme d’appui aux initiatives sectorielles du gouvernement du Canada pour son programme national de recrutement du personnel militaire. L’annonce a été faite lors de l’éCHANGE national sur la transition 2016 de la Compagnie Canada, qui a eu lieu au Musée de l’aviation et de l’espace du Canada.

Plus d’information :Communiqué de presse

Des vétérans canadiens participent à une cérémonie annuelle à la chandelle

Des vétérans canadiens participent à une cérémonie annuelle à la chandelle
7 images

7 novembre 2016

L’honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, s’est joint à Son Honneur Jim Watson, maire d’Ottawa, et à M. Stephen Quick, directeur général du Musée canadien de la guerre, afin de participer à la 17e cérémonie annuelle à la chandelle en hommage aux vétérans du Canada au musée.

Dans le cadre de la cérémonie, le flambeau du Souvenir a été transmis de façon symbolique aux jeunes lorsque les vétérans leur ont remis des chandelles. Cette tradition émouvante rend hommage aux nombreux hommes et femmes en uniforme qui ont servi courageusement le Canada au fil des ans pour protéger nos valeurs communes.

Plus d’information :Communiqué de presse

Date de modification :