Budget 2017 - Fact Sheet - Caregiver Recognition Benefit

Related Information

Effective Date

Implementation of all Budget 2017 initiatives is expected on April 1, 2018.

Background

The Government of Canada is fulfilling its commitment to enhancing and simplifying support to Veterans' families and caregivers by replacing the Family Caregiver Relief Benefit with a monthly, tax-free benefit paid directly to a Veteran's caregiver.

The proposed changes deliver directly on the mandate commitments of the Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence as well as being specifically requested by the Veterans caregiver stakeholder community.

This benefit is just one step the Government is taking to improve benefits and services offered to Canadian Armed Forces members, Veterans and their families.

Quick Facts

$187.3 million over six years to create the Caregiver Recognition Benefit to provide $1,000 per month to caregivers of ill and injured Veterans to better recognize their vital role.

We are increasing the support we provide and recognize caregivers directly by replacing The Family Caregiver Relief Benefit with the Caregiver Recognition Benefit. This new tax-free benefit of $1,000 a month will be paid directly to a Veteran's caregiver.

This benefit will be indexed annually to keep pace with inflation.

These changes will provide additional support to Veterans and their families and recognizes the integral role of the caregiver in the Veteran's well-being

The definition of a Caregiver is a person 18 years of age or older who plays an essential role in the provision or coordination of ongoing care for that Veteran in the Veteran’s home, for which that person received no other forms of remuneration.

Examples of who could benefit from this change:

Scenario 1:

Florence is a 28 year old woman who takes care of her grandfather who is a Veteran and continues to live at home. Florence is not receiving compensation for the care she is providing, which includes daily supervision, cooking, maintaining the home and running errands. The new Caregiver Recognition Benefit will provide Florence with the monthly amount of $1,000 paid directly to her in acknowledgement of the care and support she provides.

Date modified:

Budget de 2017 - Fiche d’information - Allocation de reconnaissance des aidants naturels

Renseignements connexes

Date d’entrée en vigueur :

Toutes les initiatives du Budget 2017 devraient être mises en œuvre d’ici le 1er avril 2018.

Contexte

Le gouvernement du Canada donne suite à son engagement d’améliorer et de simplifier le soutien aux familles et aux aidants naturels des vétérans en remplaçant l’allocation pour relève d’un aidant familial par une allocation mensuelle non imposable versée directement à l’aidant naturel d’un vétéran.

Les changements proposés donnent directement suite aux engagements énoncés dans le mandat du ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale, changements qui ont été demandés expressément par la communauté de défenseurs des intérêts des aidants naturels.

Cette allocation n’est qu’une des mesures que prend le gouvernement pour améliorer les prestations et les services offerts aux membres et vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes et à leur famille

Faits en bref

187,3 millions de dollars sur six ans en vue de créer l’Allocation de reconnaissance des aidants naturels pour fournir 1 000 $ par mois aux aidants naturels des vétérans malades ou blessés afin de mieux reconnaître leur rôle essentiel.

Nous augmentons notre soutien et reconnaissons directement les aidants naturels en remplaçant l’allocation pour relève d’un aidant familial par l’allocation de reconnaissance des aidants naturels. Cette nouvelle allocation non imposable de 1 000 $ par mois sera versée directement à l’aidant naturel d’un vétéran.

L’allocation sera indexée annuellement en fonction de l’inflation.

Ces changements permettront d’appuyer davantage les vétérans et leur famille et de reconnaître le rôle intégral de l’aidant naturel dans le bien-être du vétéran.

Un aidant naturel est une personne âgée de 18 ans ou plus qui joue un rôle essentiel dans la prestation et la coordination de soins continus auprès d’un vétéran, au domicile de ce dernier, et pour lesquels elle ne reçoit aucune autre forme de rémunération.

Exemple de personnes susceptibles de bénéficier de ces changements :

Scénario 1

Florence est une femme de 28 ans qui s’occupe de son grand-père, une vétéran vivant toujours à son domicile. Florence ne reçoit aucune rémunération pour les soins qu’elle prodigue à son grand-père, notamment une supervision quotidienne, la cuisine, le ménage et les courses. Grâce à la nouvelle allocation de reconnaissance des aidants naturels, la somme mensuelle de 1 000 $ sera versée directement à Florence en reconnaissance des soins et du soutien qu’elle donne.

Date de modification :